Research approaches

There are two main research approaches: quantitative and qualitative. However, we should not force ourselves to classify every research study into quantitative or qualitative only. Every field of study has its own tradition. Quantitative approach originates from natural science and qualitative from ethnology and sociology. Linguistics and literature have their own traditions that cannot simply be reduced into either one of the two.

Please identify the approach for your research idea.

20 Replies to “Research approaches”

  1. Dear Sir,
    I have two research questions and approaches to cover the research as we discussed several days ago.

    1. What is the effect of learning English in Self Access Center (SAC) on the English proficiency of the first semester students of English Department in Airlangga University?

    In this research, I apply QUANTITATIVE approach, meaning that it brings standardized instruments and analyzes data statistically. Furthermore, the objective of this research is to study relationship cause and effect.

    2.How do MAPANZA Community (The Community of Students against Psychotropic, Narcotic, and Addictive Substance) persuade Drug Users in Dupak, Surabaya through their Speech ?

    Anyway, I uses QUALITATIVE approach because I try to analyze social phenomena and I need description n interpretation to investigate the case.

    Thank you for guiding Sir.

    Regards,
    LAILI HIBATIN WAFIROH
    Post Graduate Program_UNISMA
    NPM: 2091040121

    ==
    Dear Lalili Hibatin,

    The word “what is … ” in your first research question invite multiple interpretation. Pls state it clearly.
    Your second research problem is good.

    Regards,
    Sugeng

    1. Dear Sir,
      Thanks for the correction, Sir. Is it true if i revise the research question like this:

      Is there an effect of learning English in Self Access Center (SAC) on the English proficiency of the first semester students of English Department in Airlangga University?

      I mean I’d like to see if there is an effect of learning English in SAC. Then, i describe the effect later.

  2. Dear Sir.
    I’d like to rewrite my research questions that I sent on November 10, 2009 .
    I am sorry for writing it in this blog because I am affraid it won’t be sent to your email. I have two reseach questions.
    the first one is:

    ” Do children who fond of reading also have good writing skill?”
    The paradigms is Constructivism
    The approach is Quantitative
    The design is Correlational

    And the second one is

    ” What types of speech disfluency made by children aged four-year-old in describing picture?”
    The paradigms is Positivism
    The approach is Qualitative
    The design is Survey.

    What is your comment with those titles Sir?

    Regards,
    Dina Kartikawati
    Post Graduate Program_UNISMA

    1. You wrote:
      ” Do children who fond of reading also have good writing skill?”
      The paradigms is Constructivism
      The approach is Quantitative
      The design is Correlational

      My comment: NO, this must be :positivism”.
      The approach and design is OK.

      and the second:
      ” What types of speech disfluency made by children aged four-year-old in describing picture?”
      The paradigms is Positivism
      The approach is Qualitative
      The design is Survey.

      My comment: NO, this must be :constructivism”.
      The approach and designs are OK.

      Regards,
      Sugeng

  3. Dear Sir,
    I apply Quantitative approach in my first reseach question (Do children who fond of reading also have good writing skill?) because I need some statistically data and standardized instrument in this reseach. Another reason is I will analyzed if there is correlation between reading hobby and writing skill.

    In my second research question (Do children who fond of reading also have good writing skill?) I aplly Qualitative approach because when I do the research, I don’t know what types of disfluency in children speech when they are describing picture, and I don’t need statistically data to do this research.

  4. Dear Sir,

    I have the problem and the hypothesis as below

    Research Problem
    Is there an Effect of Students’ joining the Intensive Course on the English Subject achievement of the third students of SMAN 1 Trawas in the 2009/2010 Academic Year?

    Reserch Hypothesis
    There is an Effect of Students’ joining the Intensive Course on the English Subject achievement of the third students of SMAN 1 Trawas in the 2009/2010 Academic Year

    Null Hypothesis
    There is no Effect of Students’ joining the Intensive Course on the English Subject achievement of the third students of SMAN 1 Trawas in the 2009/2010 Academic Year

    So from your explanation I can decide that my Research approach is QUANTITATIVE. Because I will be using statistical data for my research. That’s all
    Thanks.

    Tutik Muniroh
    Post Graduate Program_UNISMA
    NPM: 2091040076

  5. Dear Sir,

    Based on the data before

    Research Problem :
    What is the influence of the using of Transition Signals on Procedure text of the first year students of SMA Negeri 1 Trawas, Mojokerto.

    Research Hypothesis:
    There is a positive influence of the using of Transition Signals on Procedure text of the first year students of SMA Negeri 1 Trawas, Mojokerto.

    Null Hypothesis :
    There is no influence of the using of Transition Signals on Procedure text of the first year students of SMA Negeri 1 Trawas, Mojokerto.

    I can conclude that my research approach is QUANTITATIVE RESEARCH. Because I will do my research by using analyzing data from statistic. Thank you.

    Rudiyanto
    Post Graduate Program_UNISMA
    NPM: 2091040074

    1. The approach is OK. This is quantitative in the approach.

      My comment on the research problem and hypothesis formulation can be seen on the “hypothesis” topic.

      SGH

  6. Dear Sir,
    Research Problem :
    Is there an effect of using language laboratory to the listening skill of students of SMA Negeri 1 Trawas, Mojokerto.
    From the problem above, I can conclude that I will use Quantitative approach because This research deal with statistically data.
    Pls give me a comment

    Thanks,

    Laily Indah Hariyani
    Post Graduate Program_UNISMA
    NPM: 2091040075

  7. Dear Sir,

    Here I would like to consult my Research Problem,research hypothesis, and null hypothesis;
    Research Problem: A study of the effects two reading programs (A and B) on the reading achievement of the eleventh-grade students in SMA N 1 Kodi, Sumba Barat Daya.

    Research Hypothesis: Is there any difference in the main gains in reading achievement for students taught by program A and those taught by program B?

    Null Hypothesis: With students of heterogenous reading achievement, there will be no difference in the main gains in reading achievement for students taught by program A and those taught by program B

    I am looking forward to your comment
    Yours faithfully,

    Ahmad Abubakar
    PPS Unisma
    English Education Department
    Regular Class

    1. Ahmad,

      Hypotheses are a temporary answers to your research questions.
      So, the formulation should NOT be in interrogative forms.
      Please revise.

      rgds,
      Sugeng

      1. Dear Sir,

        Thank you for your comment and suggestion on my hypothesis.
        Here is my revised hypothesis: There is difference in the main gains for students taught by reading program A and those taught by reading program B.

        Thank you,
        Ahmad Abubakar
        PPS Unisma
        NPM: 2091040022

      2. Dear Sir,

        I am sorry Sir I have not got comment on my hypothesis revision with regards to your advice.

        Thank you
        Ahmad Abubakar
        Postgraduate Program- Unisma
        English Education Department
        NPM:2091040022

  8. Dear Sir,

    Thank a lot for your comment to my research question and suggesting me to make research design.

    My research question is; “Is there a relationship between grammar and vocabulary mastery with reading comprehension capability of the third-year students of SMA Laboratorium UM?”

    I propose the following research design.
    1. I have two classes consisting of 30 students of each.
    Both of them are social classes of the third-year
    students.
    2. Social class I is the experimental group, whereas
    Social class II is the control one. There is no
    andomization in this case.
    3. As this research is experimental, I need a few weeks
    to do it. I will spend a week for the pretest, six weeks
    for guidance and training and a week (the last week)
    for the post test activities. Shortly I need eight weeks
    to do my research.
    4. I ask both group to answer the question based on
    he text given in 90 minutes and I call this for the
    pretest.
    5. The experimental group (Social class I) will get the
    guidance and training activity for six weeks. I will
    guide and train them to increase their knowledge on
    grammar and vocabulary.
    6. After the six weeks treatment, I will ask the both
    group to answer the question based on the text given
    and I call this for the post test.
    7. As this research needs the pretest-post test design
    and there is no randomization, I decide that it is a
    quasi-experimental design.

    Thank a lot. I am looking forward to having you comment and suggestion for this.

    ROSDIANA AMINI
    NPM.2091040006
    Graduate Program
    Master of English Education
    Islamic University of Malang

  9. Dear sir,

    Thank you very much for suggesting me to continue the assignment on making a research design.

    My research question is “ Do the second year students of the state Senior High School I of Turen Malang taught by a Laissez-faire teacher show higher problem solving skill than those taught by an authoritarian teacher?”

    Referring to it, I propose the following research design.
    1. I have two classes with 30 students of each.
    2. Both of them are science classes.
    3. There is no randomizing for the two classes.
    4. One class taught by a Laissez-faire teacher and the
    other taught by an authoritarian one.
    5. The class taught by a Laissez-faire teacher is the
    experimental group, where as the class taught by an
    authoritarian teacher is the control one.
    6. Since the research is experimental, I need a few
    weeks to do it. It is about 6 weeks.
    7. I will spend the first week to do the pretest, four
    weeks to study the teaching learning and the last
    week to conduct the post test activities. Shortly I
    need six week to do the research.
    8. I will attend the class with a Laissez-faire teacher and
    I will also attend the class with an authoritarian one
    for four week.
    9. Since this study or research involves the pretest and
    the post test without randomizing, I conclude that it
    is a Quasi-experimental design.

    I am looking forward to having your comment and suggestion for a better design.
    Thank you very much

    MAHRUS
    NPM.2091040001
    Graduate Program
    Master of English Education
    Islamic University of Malang

  10. dear sir,

    This is my assigment

    1. Research problem
    What is the effect of new vocabulary repetition on vocabulary in SMKN 4 Malang.
    2. Research hyphotesis
    There is an effect of new vocabulary repetition on vocabulary in SMKN 4 Malang.
    3. Null hyphotesis
    There isn’t an effect of new vocabulary repetition on vocabulary in SMKN 4 Malang.

    Sukirman
    Pps Bahasa Inggris Unisma 2009 – 2010

  11. Based on my:

    Research Problem :
    What is the effects of students’ ability to speak English on their confidence of SMA Negeri 1 Gondang, Mojokerto.
    Research Hypothesis:
    There is an effects of student’s ability to speak english on their confidence of SMA Negeri 1 Gondang, Mojokerto.
    Null Hypothesis :
    There is no effects of student’s ability to speak english on their confidence of SMA Negeri 1 Gondang, Mojokerto.

    So, my Research approach is QUANTITATIVE. Because I will use statistically data for my research.
    I’m looking forward for your comment sir….

    Lilik Indayani
    Post Graduate Program_UNISMA
    NPM: 2091040073

Leave a comment